Janathon Day 2: 4-mile run

Another sunny day greeted me Wednesday, the second day of 2013 and the second day of the Janathon.

After returning our rental car (the dealership is about a half-mile from here), I walked home, changed into my running clothes and ran a new route, a route I reconned Tuesday night in the car. My wife suggested running in the bike lanes downtown; she had seen someone doing that the other night.

My reconnaissance Tuesday evening suggested that downtown on a Wednesday afternoon (or morning) would have too much traffic, so I ran in the  bike lanes just east of downtown. For the most part, the streets were dry with no ice. I ran through one short stretch in the shade that was icy.

The run went well, even though I hadn’t run in more than a week. With the exception of Sunday and Monday of this week, I have not been a couch potato. I walk or ride my bike to work daily. I also walk places with my family. For instance, in a few minutes I am going to walk over to a science museum and meet my family there, thus a bit more exercise for the new year.

I completed my 4-mile run in 43 minutes and 23 seconds. A pretty good effort.

Today’s run also served as a recon for when I return to work Friday. I plan to use my bike, and if the bike paths are dry, that’s good. Barring more snow or a real warmup then freeze, leaving ice on the street, I should be in pretty good shape heading to work on my bicycle.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

