Riding in a Winter Wonderland

Thursday night I rode my bike home in the snow. And as I was riding, I sang “Riding in a Winter Wonderland” to the tune of “Walking in a Winter Wonderland,” probably my favorite non-Christmas Christmas song. Why does that song only come out at Christmas? It’s about winter, which hasn’t even started yet as I write this, not Christmas.

The snow isn’t sticking, so the ride wasn’t too bad. The wind made it tough in spots as did the puddles.

Thursday morning at breakfast, my wife, son and I took inventory of our four-month car-free experiment, which is now over. We’re still car free. Just the four-month part is over, although my son suggested we go through January to see how that goes before deciding whether we want to get a car again. We all agreed to live through an Indiana January without a car.

We also rated how we liked being car free on a scale of one to 10, one being we hate being car free, 10 being we absolutely love it. My wife and son both scored it 7-8; I went 8-9. I am sure my wife would have preferred to have a car on Wednesday. She got up for an 8:45 a.m. dentist appointment and ended up riding her bike to the dentist (about 2 1/2 miles, I’d guess) because she overslept for the bus. Then after the dentist appointment, she went downtown to help with costumes for the upcomingBoar’s Head and Yule Log Festival at her church. Then it was off to work.

I fixed supper — baked beans using a variation on a recipe in the book How it All Vegan. I tried to download the book onto my Nook Color from our public library. The catalog shows an electronic version is available, until you go to the software that actually is used to  download books, and it’s not. Anyways, the baked beans turned out pretty good. Like so many things I cook, I find what’s available and go from there.

Thursday after breakfast I finally got my first run in of the week. I went about 4 miles. I have not mapped it out, but I was out 42 minutes. I don’t run fast, though I run faster now at age 54 than I did at age 50. I chalk it up to more experience, a German shorthair pointer running companion, my improved diet and the large amount of weight I’ve lost since the beginning of the year.

Here is a Boar’s Head video. As a vegan, I’m not sure about celebrating the death of a boar, but I know at my wife’s church, no boar is killed in the making of the festival. Her church also doesn’t have bagpipes, but much of this video is similar to what they do.

Boar’s Head Festival

 

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Food, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

