8-miles Friday

I got up early and ran 8 miles today. Took the GSP with me. She doesn’t seem to ever tire out. It was beautiful morning for a run. Sunny, temperatures in the 40s, almost no wind. Ideal for the last day of November. Makes me kind of like global warming.

Then I read this about Greenland and I realize that global warming is not such a good thing after all.

We can all do little things to lower our carbon footprint. The most obvious are driving less, changing to more energy efficient lightbulbs, unplugging electronic devices that aren’t being used.

One thing we can do that is a little less obvious is eat less meat. Or better yet, no meat. Or eggs, or dairy. Vast areas of forest are cleared for the feeding and raising of livestock. Those forests are needed to convert carbon dioxide into oxygen. Remember photosynthesis from school?

J. Morris Hicks, author of Healthy Eating, Healthy World, has blogged considerably on the link to meat production and climate change. To him, the most obvious change we can make is in our diet.

So what does any of this have to do with my 8-mile run this morning? I never thought I’d be running in shorts on the last day of November. And maybe today’s unusually warm weather has nothing to do with global warming or climate change. But then again, maybe it has everything to do with it.

While I enjoy running and racing, I don’t think racing is all that friendly to the environment. At virtually every race I’ve run, runners have access to bottled water at the finish line. Then there are the cars that are forced to wait at intersections while runners parade past. And don’t forget all the plastic cups that line the race course at every water stop. All of this is wasteful. And what is a runner to do? Not race? Enter only “green” races? Carry his or her own water/Gatorade? Skip the water bottles at the finish line and instead look for a drinking fountain or sink? I don’t have an answer.

Any suggestions?

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

