Seed catalog arrives

Our Seed Savers Exchange catalog arrived in the mail today. Last year, we ordered a catalog but then never bought any seeds. We had our house and garage painted in May, so we waited until the painting was done before planting our garden.

In our small yard, we have four raised garden boxes. We grew mostly tomatoes this year with some peppers and zucchini. Our plan had been to grow carrots, Swiss chard and beets in addition to tomatoes. This year’s batch of tomatoes came in well, but we had a lot of green tomatoes by the end of the growing season.

Thanks to Waking up Vegan we had ideas for using those green tomatoes. They mostly went into soups.

I ran about 4 miles Wednesday. I ran the same route Wednesday that I ran Saturday. I overdressed for Wednesday’s run, thinking it was colder outside than it really was. I didn’t need the wind shell. I hope to do a longer run Friday, maybe 10 miles. It will depend how late I get to bed tonight after work and how early I get up. I’ve been sleeping in until 10 this week.

On both days, our German shorthair pointer came along. She loves to run, but squirrels are always what she’s looking for.

Saturday, our new downtown farmers market makes its monthly return. Last month was packed. I’ve been talking with a vendor, and he says the organizer is looking for a larger, centrally located spot so the market can be open weekly and for more than 3 hours. A couple years ago, a restaurant just west of downtown had an indoor market during the winter. I heard that the restaurateur’s insurance company put the kibosh on that indoor market.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

