How long car free?

I realized walking to the library this evening that it was two months ago tomorrow that we had our car towed away for good.

As those two months have flown by and we’re closing in on the end of our four-month car-free experiment, I have been contemplating having a car again.

A refresher: In mid-August, our car broke down. It needed nearly $1,000 worth of work, so we decided to park it. My wife suggested we go four months without a car. That would get us from late summer to early winter. As the day approached where the car needed to be re-registered with the state of Indiana, we decided to just get rid of it. Why pay a few hundred dollars to register a car that isn’t road-worthy? It was in mid-August. Aug. 16, I believe, when the car was last driven. It was Sept. 28 when a tow company hired by the St. Vincent de Paul Society towed it away.

Last night one of my colleagues asked how cold it will have to get before I stop riding my bike to work. When I told him I don’t have a car, his jaw dropped. I explained our four-month experiment.

I like not having a car. Yeah, it can be hassle to wait for a bus or chase one down as was the case today. It’s also cold on a bicycle when the wind is howling and the temperature is in the mid-20s.  But still I feel as sense of freedom by not owning a car or driving.

I don’t know if we’ll be buying a car in month or not. I see the cons of being car-free. My mom doesn’t live in an area that is safe to get to by foot or by bike. (I tried running to her house once, and when I got within a half-mile or so of her house, I had to run on a narrow, busy two-lane road with no shoulder.) So getting to my mom’s house is problematic. My son might want to play soccer or basketball someplace that’s not on a bus line or within easy walking distance. These are just a couple of ideas.

Winter is coming soon. There was snow on parked cars last night. I don’t relish riding my bike in the snow or on ice.

For now, though, I am going to enjoy the night as I walk home from the library. The car question will take care of itself, I know.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How long car free?

  1. Ibikeubike says:

    Nice post! We really didn’t know how long our car-free experiment would last either.
    I love that you embrace the negatives as well as the positives! That’s just real life and although sometimes difficult for our family we are forever changed for the better by this experience. I didn’t notice you mentioning a bike. For us It’s just so much faster than walking 🙂
    We are on twitter @ibikeubike
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

