Thanksgiving fun

Today is Thanksgiving Day in the USA, a secular holiday with religious overtones. It is my favorite holiday because it comes with no pressure over gifts like Christmas.

First off, we rented a car so we could travel to my sister’s house in Brownsburg, Indiana. We rented on Wednesday and used it to deliver months’ worth of newspapers to a Paper Gator at my mom’s church, pick up a few groceries, our race packets for Thursday’s Galloping Gobbler four-mile race, drop off two bags of clothes to the St. Vincent de Paul store, pick up a family portrait and to travel downtown to see the lighting of Santa Claus on the side of a bank building.img.axd

 

Thursday, we rose early and traveled to the University of Saint Francis For the race. The sun was shining and the temperature was in the 40s. More than 3,000 people of all ages ran and walked from USF to Lindenwood Cemetery and back.  I finished the race in 41:37.7, a PR for four-miler. Who says a guy in his mid-50s can’t set a PR once in awhile?

After the race, we came home, and I finished making my apples and lentils salad to take to my sister’s. I liked the salad, but I think the curry powder overwhelmed it.

It was good to see my mom, sisters (all five) and most of my nieces and nephews. I ate too much, all of it vegan.

We got home safely, and tomorrow, the rental car goes back to the car rental company.

As for having a car, I realized I prefer the car-free lifestyle. Most of our errand running Wednesday could have been done without a car, but having the car made it easier, though not nearly as relaxing.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

