Thanksgiving racing

I read somewhere, I think it was in Runner’s World magazine, that Thanksgiving is the biggest racing day of the year. Thousands (millions maybe?) race that day because they’re going to gorge on an excess of calories later in the day, so they want to deplete their calories before eating.

Or it’s because family is in town and it gives family members who rarely see each other some time to bond or compete with each other in a footrace.

Whatever the reason, I’ll be joining hundreds of others at the University of Saint Francis for the annual Galloping Gobbler. Yeah, I know as person who doesn’t eat meat (even on Thanksgiving) I probably ought to avoid a turkey of race. OK, the race is really pretty neat. It starts and ends at the university, but most of the race goes through an adjacent cemetery. That’s the cool part.

Friday, in preparation for the race, I ran 9.5 miles. I had intended to run 10. Thursday night I went to mapmyrun and mapped out a route that came to 10 miles. On the nose. When I ran what I remembered the route to be and then remapped it when I got home, it came out to 9.59 miles. I don’t own a GPS on my watch, so I’m at the mercy of my fallible memory to remember what I mapped out Thursday night and what I ran Friday morning.

My goal is to run my first marathon next fall. I’m giving myself a year to get up 26.1 miles. I ran a half marathon the last Saturday of September and then ran 12 miles a couple of weeks later. Then I let my distance slip.

Next month, I am planning to run a 10K called the Just Plain 10K. No entry fees, no tech shirts, no timing chips. No facilities. I ran the race in 2010, and I think maybe two dozen people were there. We had vegetarian soup after the race. It was a lot of fun. A summerlong injury in 2011 kept me from training much last year, and by December I was probably up to two miles.

As part of the 10K, I am thinking of running as a benefit to the Superstorm Sandy victims. I saw this Thursday on Facebook. It’s called the Race for Recovery 5K and 10K. A blogger calling herself the NYC Running Mama is raising money for the recovery effort in New York and New Jersey. Runners are asked to donate a minimum of $20. They’ll get a bib number. They’re then supposed to email a photo of themselves wearing the bib number to the Running Mama along with their 10K or 5K time. The race is Dec. 8, the same day as the JP10K.

Anyone who reads this post, I challenge you to race 5Ks or 10Ks that day for the Sandy recovery effort.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

