Three months, already

On Friday, we’ll be three months without using a car. How has it been? For the most part pretty good. What I’ve discovered is that when you’re car-free, you have to live more deliberately than when you have a car.

And that is a good thing.

A week ago, we went a volunteer appreciation program at Eagle Marsh. We took the bus to a nearby shopping center then walked about a mile to the Towpath Trail, a multiuse trail that abuts Eagle Marsh. We had to plan our trip by being at the bus stop early enough to get to the marsh and then leave the marsh on time to be back at the bus stop to get home.

Eagle Marsh in spring

Getting the bus stop on time doesn’t always work. On two or three occasions, the bus has passed my stop as I walking to it. These are reminders to me to be aware of the time when I want to catch a bus.

Then there is the rain. I’ve gotten better at preparing for rain. As for the snow and ice …. Well, we had snow Monday, but it didn’t stick.

What I need to do now is get my tube fixed on my bike. I put air in the tire a few hours ago and have not yet checked it to see if it still has air in it.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

