Election day

Today, I woke up early, went to Mass then rode my bike from church to my polling place, voted, then rode home and had breakfast — oatmeal as usual.

In his blog today,  J. Morris Hicks, author of Healthy Eating, Healthy World blogged about dairy farmers in Finland who gave up the dairy and started growing berries instead. What a cool concept.

Dr. Michael Greger had posted a video on the topic, and what happened was that Finland’s heart attack rate dropped considerably as that country started drinking less milk and started eating more berries.

The U.S. is now the nation with the most heart disease, and Dr. Greger and Mr. Hicks both recommend that we consume less dairy, a lot less, as in none. I bring this up because I recently came across a blog (sorry I don’t have a link to it) in which the writer recommended drinking milk while we ate bananas. The writer said that milk is an excellent source of calcium. Not true. Here’s Dr. Greger again.

It wasn’t easy for me to give up milk. Well, milk was easy. I don’t like milk. Cheese and ice cream? They were tough to give up. But ice cream left me with headaches every time I had some, and not those brain freezes that last a few seconds. These were full-blown knock-me-out headaches. OK, I’m a sample of one, which hardly qualifies as scientific, but since giving up all dairy I have yet to get a migraine, and I was able to stop drinking coffee without once getting a caffeine-withdrawal headache.

So, does milk do a body good? No, not a human body. A calf’s body? Sure. Leave the milk for the calf.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

