Apples

Where have all the apples gone? My son and I went to the farmers market Saturday morning. We bought greens (kale, bok choy, Napa cabbage), tomatoes, potatoes. We saw squash (acorn, butternut, spaghetti), garlic, peppers. What I didn’t see were apples. Not one. A week earlier, we went to a different farmers market. A few apples were there.

Where have all the apples gone? An apple grower who sells at the majority of the area farmers market said he had no crop this year. Here in northern Indiana, we had an unusually warm March followed by a cold April. Apparently, the apple trees bloomed too early, then the cold April killed off the fruit. Rumors were rampant that other fruit were affected, too. I usually track down wild raspberries, but I didn’t see any this year. We were able to get a fair number of blueberries and strawberries this summer. We didn’t see any tart cherries from Michigan. We found some peaches, but again, far fewer peaches were available.

What if we have more unusually warm winters? Yes, when you don’t own a car, a warm winter is nice. But the fruit trees rely on a regular winter to produce a healthy crop. Is this year the beginning of a trend with minimal fruit? I fear it is. I fear that climate change is here, and we’re going to see more winters like last. Will every winter be like that? No, but more winters will be.

I miss my apples. This time of year, apples are my favorite fruit. In the summer, blueberries and peaches become my favorite. In the winter, it’s oranges and pink grapefruit.

Where have all the apples gone?

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

