Finally, another run

After a week without putting on my running shoes, I finally ran again today. I hate that it’s been a week since I last ran. I’ve got all kinds of reasons, but they’re really just excuses. I slept in. It was raining. It was too cold. It was too windy. Just lame excuses.

I ran 5.23 miles. I wish it was 5.25, but I don’t have a GPS on my watch, so I didn’t go another two hundredths of a mile, however long that is.

Today is World Vegan Day. I don’t think I’ve worn any animal products. I own wool sports coats and silk ties and a leather belt. I wore the leather belt earlier today, and I’ll probably wear to work later today. I have no choice but to wear a belt. My pants won’t stay up without it, and I’d rather wear a belt that I already own than to spend good money to find a faux leather or cotton belt. Anyways, happy World Vegan Day. It would do the body good and the planet and the animals good if we all ate vegan meals more often.

Today is All Saints Day, and I went to Mass this morning. My dad died a little over a year ago, so this day has a special meaning. My dad’s brother died just days before I turned 50, and his funeral was on my birthday. Their deaths are a reminder of my own mortality, and I guess I eat the way I do in their memory. Heart disease runs in our family, and  research done by Dr. Dean Ornish and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn Jr. suggests that if you eat a plant-based diet, you can keep heart disease at bay. I wish I knew that before my uncle got sick, maybe if he knew that he would have changed his diet and he’d still be with us today. But then none of us knows the hour when our time on Earth will be up.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

