More on that weighted word “vegan”

A few days ago I wrote a blog post Vegan — a weighted word? I offered different ideas on the use of the word “vegan.” Two bloggers I follow on Facebook use vegan in the title: “The Thinking Vegan,” and “Walking Up Vegan.” Another blogger I follow, “The Happy Herbivore,” purposely does not use vegan. Lindsay S. Nixon, the Happy Herbivore explains why here.

After reading Lindsay’s reasoning, I guess, technically I’m not vegan. I took antibiotics this summer when I got sick. I don’t know whether my shampoo is vegan or not, and frankly, I hadn’t given it much thought. I put a lot of thought into my food choices but not enough in other things I buy. As Lindsay says, “I live in a non-vegan world. I try to do the best I can.”

I stopped eating dairy and eggs for my health, not the health of the animals, I know that’s selfish. But as time has gone on, I’ve realized that protecting animals is important too. No animal should have to die so I can eat. That’s not fair to the animal, is it?

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

