Green food — yuck; or not

For years, I avoided “green” food. Basil pesto? No thanks. Guacamole? Looks like … never mind. Brussels sprouts? The odor of them cooking drives me away.

As I read Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s Eat to Live, I realized Fuhrman puts an emphasis on eating greens, leafy greens in particular. I discovered kale, bok choy, Swiss chard, among other greens. I always loved broccoli. For whatever reason, I can’t stand the smell of Brussels sprouts cooking, so I don’t eat them. My sister-in-law once brought Brussels sprouts of a family gathering, and they were good. I didn’t have to smell them cooking.

A couple weeks ago, I went to lunch with my wife, son and mom to celebrate my son’s birthday. We went to a Mexican restaurant and guacamole came with my fajitas. I put a little on the fajitas. As long as I don’t think about what it looks like, guacamole tastes good.

As for basil pesto? I haven’t had any of that in years.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

