Vegan — a weighted word?

Philip Wollen, founder of the Winsome Constance Kindness Trust in Melbourne, Australia, loves the word “vegan.” He says of being vegan: “Being able to look in the mirror without feeling profoundly ashamed.” http://veganeasy.org/Phil-Wollen.

J. Morris Hicks, author of Healthy Eating Healthy World, avoids using the word “vegan.” He wrote: “The words vegan-ism and vegetarian-ism don’t describe what you DO eat; they’re mostly about what you’re avoiding.” http://hpjmh.com/2012/02/17/why-move-away-from-the-terms-vegan-vegetarian/. Hicks encourages his readers to eat diet of mostly vegetables and fruits, what he calls “4 Leaf.”

The movie Forks over Knives (a film I highly recommend to anyone with heart disease, diabetes or cancer), while encouraging people to a whole-foods, plant-based diet, never uses the word vegan.

Kathy Freston wrote a book titled Veganist. She encourages her readers to “lean” into a vegan diet.

So what’s my point? I guess it’s that I’ll tell people I eat a vegan diet. I’m not ashamed of it. But mostly, I just tell people I don’t eat meat or cheese. The other night I was guests at another person’s home and was offered stuffed mushrooms. They looked delicious, but they were covered in cheese. “No thank you,” I said, “I don’t eat cheese,” and left it at that.

Since adopting a vegan diet in January, I’ve lost more than 40 pounds. But as I tell people it’s not just about losing weight, it’s about optimal health. In addition to going from about 220 pounds to about 175, I have stopped drinking coffee (I drank six to 10 cups a day) without once getting a headache. I no longer get migraine headaches.  A persistent rash has cleared up. The tendinitis I had in both ankles is gone. My cholesterol is about 100.

I’d like to close this blog with a video of Philip Wollen’s speech at a Melbourne debate on whether animals should be off the menu.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan — a weighted word?

  1. Pingback: More on that weighted word “vegan” | Car-free, meat-free runner

Leave a Reply

