Two weeks without a car

It was two weeks ago today that the tow truck showed up at our house and hauled out 2002 Silver Saturn Station Wagon away for good.

So how has being car free gone? I think for the most part pretty well. We have to plan our trips more than we had in the past. We can’t just jump in the car and drive to the store to pick up a carton of almond milk or a bunch of kale. Or a bag of potatoes. We’re learning to make do.

Last Friday was, for me, my worst car-free day. It was drizzling in the morning but by afternoon it had stopped. My plan was to ride my bicycle to work. As I was getting ready for work, I heard rain on the roof of the house and looked outside and it was pouring. Time for Plan 2. My wife and son were out with the umbrellas. I decided to walk. I had already missed that hour’s bus downtown and when I left the shower was more a drizzle. Normally, I ride my bike home for dinner (I live a mile and a half from the office), and last Friday was no different. Except that it was still raining, so I decided to take the bus home.  Made the bus and got home for dinner. Then my wife asked how I was getting back to work. I looked at my watch I realized I needed to leave already to catch the next bus downtown. I didn’t leave for another five minutes, missed the bus and ended up walking back downtown in a steady drizzle.

I learned a lesson that evening. And I’ll quote something I heard the late Al McGuire say years ago when he gave a speech as my college: Proper planning prevents piss-poor results.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

