Running with a dog

One of my dogs is a German shorthaired pointer, and she loves to run. She’s nine years old, but when it comes time to run, she has the energy of a puppy. We ran about 3.5 miles this morning. She wanted to chase squirrels and pull me along. I wanted to run a nice, easy pace. I wasn’t planning a tempo run or anything. When the dog comes with me, more often than not, I get in a tempo run.

Let’s run

My near-term running goals is to run in a 10K at the end of October, then a Thanksgiving Day 4-miler and another 10K in December. Long term, I’m  looking at a half-marathon in early June and then a marathon (my first) next fall.  I ran a half-marathon Sept. 29.

The same day of the December 10K is a 4-miler. I could complete my own duathlon: run the 4-miler, ride my bicycle to the 10K start and run it then ride home, shower and ride to work (I work evenings Thursday-Monday).

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

