Science experiment of one

I am a science experiment of myself. I read research and follow ideas that I think might make me healthier. For instance, I read Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live and concluded that eating lots of vegetables, fruit, legumes and some whole grains was an ideal way to eat. I looked for evidence from other sources to validate that idea. I saw the film Forks over Knives, the film Vegucated and the film Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead (Dr. Fuhrman has a part in the latter two. I also read Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn’s Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease and T. Colin Campbell’s The China Study.

The books and movies convinced me that a whole foods plant-based diet was the way to go for optimal health. I’ve lost about 40 pounds, have given up coffee and feel great. I take no medications. Something must be working.

I also read Rich Roll’s book, Finding Ultra, and Scott Jurek’s book Eat and Run. Roll and Jurek our ultraendurance athletes who complete their sports while on a plant-based diet. More validation to my way of eating.

I run in minimalist shoes. I love them. Just I think because I am healthy eating a plant-based diet, I think everyone would be too, I think all runners should run in minimalist shoes (or barefoot). Christopher McDougall’s Born to Run makes the case for wearing light minimalist or no no shoe, certainly  not a well-padded  shoe. I have no injuries, therefore, neither will you. Saturday night, I read this article from Outside magazine

As I wrote at the outset. I am an experiment of one. My body is unique to me. Just because something works for me, doesn’t mean it’ll work for everyone, especially the shoes. The food? I’m convinced it can work for everyone. Pick up a copy of one of the aforementioned books, some greens, other vegetables, some beans  or lentils and some fruit. Get a good cookbook, say Lindsay Nixon’s Happy Herbivore experiment with plant-based foods for yourself. You might be surprised at how easy it is to skip the meat, eggs, cheese and other stuff your body really doesn’t need.

 

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Science experiment of one

  1. Pingback: Science Experiment of One revisited | Car-free, meat-free runner

  2. Pingback: A mile’s worth of yard work: Sustainability project update | 90in9

Leave a comment